People | People |

The University of Wyoming lists 15 students from Teton County on the Provost’s Spring 2021 Honor Roll. These students have a grade point average of at least 3.5 and have completed six but less than 12 hours of coursework.

From Alta, Taryn E. Paradise and Zachary Ward deserves the honor.

From Jackson, Sarah E. Bentlage, Laura Anne Dotson, Nicholas Fredericks, Sarah-Jane E. Huse, Donald Jackson II, Erin Mcgibbon, Liam A. O’Connor, Nicole Provencher, Hannah L. Rigsby, Michael Whitman, and Charlene A. Zuckerman deserves the honor.

From Wilson, Rachel Ernst and Syndey Ann Wiswell were added to the list.

Benjamin Klausmann of Wilson graduated from Lehigh University with a Bachelor of Arts major in design in the spring of 2021.

Rachael Egger and Forest Reichert, both Jackson, were inducted into Lehigh University’s Dean’s List for the spring of 2021. They achieved a school average of 3.6 or better while completing at least 12 hours of regularly graded courses.

Jacksons Christopher Knowlton‘s “Bubble in the Sun” won the annual book award for excellence in financial journalism. Knowlton is a cultural historian focused on the 18th and 19th centuries. He is also the former head of the London office for Fortune Magazine. For the past several years he has written book reviews for the New York Times Book Review and the WSJ Weekend Section of the Wall Street Journal. The book is a narrative nonfiction book and traces the Roaring 20s and the epic country boom of the decade in Florida.

The Center for the Arts has announced a new board member and staff. Robert Huggins was appointed to the board. He is President and CEO of Orion Companies in Jackson, comprised of general contractors and subcontractors.

Paige ferry was appointed development assistant. Her previous community experience includes ecoAmerica and the Sun Valley Institute. Bryce Franich is the caretaker. Born and raised in Jackson, he is a product of the JHHS arts and theater program.

Julie Gerona has been named Executive Director of the Headwaters Arts and Conference Center and the Wind River Valley Arts Guild in Dubois. She will be responsible for developing new and maintaining existing business relationships, booking events, marketing and overseeing all operations of the guild and the Dubois Visitor Center.

Sarah Tallerico was Jackson’s delegate to the Wyoming Girls State in 2021. She was elected Paintbrush Mayor, Co-Leader of the Federalist Party, and was named Outstanding Federalist Delegate and Outstanding Paintbrush Delegate. Girls State is a practical application of Americanism and good citizenship, and was developed from the idea that young people should be given a better perspective on how government works in practice.

Wyoming whiskey and its co-founder David DeFazio announced that the brand has raised over $ 120,000 in partnership with the National Park Foundation. Dedicated to preserving the natural beauty of the vast American expanses that inspired the whiskey, the brand held a virtual auction of four beautiful, unique bottles in the Wide Open Spaces – By Air collection with everyone, the proceeds will come National Park Foundation directly to the benefit.

Teton Science Schools has appointed four new people to its board of directors. They started on June 1st. The newest board member is M. Margaret McKeown, a judge and a native of Wyoming.

The following board members took on new appointments: Pete Regan, Chairman of the Board; Dave Brown, Chairman of the Education Committee; Phil Coosaia, Chairman of the Finance Committee; and Mark Snell, Secretary. Petria Fossel and Marina Marrelli continued her tenure as Chair of the Funding Committee or Chair of the Mountain Academy Committee.

Nelson paradise of Alta did Magna Cum Laude on May 15 from the California State University Maritime Academy in Vallejo. His parents Ron and Theresa were there.

Nelson, who attended the Strategic Sealift Officer Program, was one of 188 undergraduate and 11 graduate students who graduated at a personal graduation ceremony. Nelson is the first Wyoming cadet to graduate from the California Maritime Academy. Nelson accepted a commission in the US Navy and his commission ceremony was celebrated before it began. Nelson will begin his Navy career in the fall, will be stationed in San Diego after further training and will be on board the USS John P. Murtha.

Comments are closed.