Golden Apple finalists announced | News, Sports, Jobs

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools has announced the finalists for the 35th Annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program.

The finalists, selected by the Foundation’s Golden Apple Selection Committee, were surprised in their classrooms today, surrounded by students, administrators, and fellow educators.

Four teachers from the Eastern Zone are among the finalists.

“No other profession influences our future than that of teaching. It is the task of the teachers to train the greatest good of our community, our students, and to prepare them for a successful future. “ stated Marshall T. Bower, Esq., President and CEO of the Foundation for Lee County Public Schools. “The recognition of the importance of teaching has been underlined in recent years as teachers have gone out of their way to ensure they meet the needs of our students amid a global pandemic. They are true heroes of the community, and these 30 Golden Apple finalists are outstanding representatives of all of our great teachers. “

The finalists of the annual Golden Apple Award 2022:

Alison Peeling – Bayshore Elementary, Headmaster Benjamin Ausman

Mary Leigh Harris – Bonita Springs High, Director Jeffrey Estes

Amy Bombace – Caloosa Middle, Director Ann Cole

Danielle Fitzsimmons – Cape Elementary, Headmistress Nicole Osterholm

Lindsey Dwyer – Colonial Elementary School, Headmaster Eric Washington

Shelby Massaro – Cypress Lake Middle, Director Matthew Miller

Phillip Savage – Dunbar High, Headmaster Carl Burnside

Ryan Arciero – Fort Myers High, Director Robert Butz

Steven McGinley – Harns Marsh Middle, Director Alex Dworzanski

Christina Cerwinsky – Heights Elementary, Headmaster Douglas Palow

Amanda Rasnake – Heights Elementary, Headmaster Douglas Palow

Leanne Olmstead – Ida S. Baker High, Director Jami Covert

Francy Johnson – Island Coast High, Director Michelle Cort

Evalea Barrett – Lehigh Senior High, Headmistress Jackie Corey

Justine Shaul – Mariner Middle, Director Rachel Gould

Brian Blauet – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts, Director Andrea Gunns

Taylor Ashby – North Fort Myers High, Headmistress Deborah Diggs

Kaleigh Stewart – North Fort Myers High, Director Deborah Diggs

Colleen Herman – Oak Hammock Middle, Director Jennifer McMillan Barnes

Kaisha Louis – Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle, Rector Trent Eckhardt

Paul Chilson – Pinewoods Elementary, Headmaster Leslie Gunderson

Danielle Morin – Rayma C. Page Elementary, Rector Valerie Sheckler

Dana Windey – Riverdale High, Director Scott Cook

Caitlin Marzec – San Carlos Park Primary School, Headmistress Christy Kutz

Stephanie Osterhouse – Skyline Elementary, headmistress Laura Trombetti

Kevin Schell – South Fort Myers High, Director Edward Mathews

Brittany Gonzalez – Tortuga Preserve Elementary School, Headmistress Jennifer Shonak

Suzanne Garrett – Veterans Park Academy for the Arts, Director Edwin Carter

Susan Bruni – Villas Elementary, Principal Shane Musich

Brittany Griner – Villas Elementary, Principal Shane Musich

The finalists will be interviewed in person by the Golden Apple Selection Committee and observed in their classrooms, and six teachers will be selected as the Golden Apple Award recipients. Recipients will be sent on Friday, March 29th.

Comments are closed.