Lehigh Advances Three To Round of 16 As NCAA Championships Begin

Story links

ST. LOUIS – Three of Lehigh’s individual champions rose in the championship class and led the 10 wrestler Lehigh contingent at the Enterprise Center on Thursday afternoon. Freshman Malyke Hines and seniors Jake Jakobsen and Jordan Wood won the fights on Thursday to advance to the round of 16. With bonus wins from Hines and Jakobsen, Lehigh scored six points in the first session and finished 15th in the field.

Hines was very impressive in an 8-0 decision against Devan Turner (No. 16) from the US state of Oregon (133). He grabbed a leg right after the first whistle, ended the takedown and drove the remaining 2:45 of the opening phase. On his NCAA debut, he added second and third period takedowns, as well as a second escape and riding time. Hines, the # 17 seed, is next up against Daton Fix of the state of Oklahoma.

Jakobsen’s third meeting of the year against Army West Point’s JT Brown was the closest yet. Seed Nos. 16 and 17 were 1-1 by regulation. Late in the sudden victory, Jakobsen was able to gain control in a duel and fell at 7:49 a.m. to the round of 16 at 197, where he will face Myles Amine from Michigan, the first seed.

Wood used two takedowns and a strong ride from the top position to beat Stanford’s Nathan Traxler 6-1 at 285. The eighth Wood will play against Penn State’s Greg Kerkvliet, the ninth seed, in the round of 16.

The only one of Lehigh’s EIWA champions to lose in the first round was Junior Jaret Lane, who dropped a 6-3 decision against Wisconsin’s Eric Barnett at 125. Lane, the No. 14, was drawn 3-3 after a two but third period shutdown and riding time gave Barnett the win.

Newcomer Luca Frinzi was the first Mountain Hawk on the mats, but dropped an 8-2 decision against Wyatt Sheets from Oklahoma in the pigtail round. He will now wrestle a consolation braid against Markus Hartman from the army.

Lehigh’s other five qualifiers fell on a higher-seeded opponent. Junior Jimmy Hoffman’s disgruntled offer at 149 fell a little short when he dropped a 3-2 decision against Michigan’s Kanen Storr # 11. Hoffman was the attacker in the third period but couldn’t get the go-ahead. No points were awarded in a late fight, which gave Storr the crucial point for driving time.

Newcomer Jake Logan fought unbeaten Utah Valley’s Demetrius Romero at 174, but despite Logan’s best efforts, number 2 prevailed 9-6.

The NCAA championships will continue from the Enterprise Center on Thursday evening. Session 2A, with the round of 16 and first round consolation for the first five weights, begins at 6:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. CT, while Session 2B begins with the same rounds for the second five weights at 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. CT. Session 2 will air on ESPN2 with streaming on ESPN3 and the ESPN app.

125 – No. 14 Jaret Lane
Round from 32: L to dec. No. 19 Eric Barnett (Wisconsin) 6-3
Round One Consolation: No. 33 Kerkuna (Iowa St.) or No. 30 Roes (Binghamton)

133 – No. 17 Malyke Hines
Rd. Of 32: Major dec. No. 16 Devan Turner (Oregon State) 8-0
Round of 16: No. 1 Daton Fix (Oklahoma State)

141 – No. 24 Connor McGonagle
Rd. Of 32: L through main dec. No. 9 Dresden Simon (Central Michigan) 18-6
Round One Consolation: # 25 Drew Mattin (Michigan)

149 – No. 22 Jimmy Hoffman
Rd. From 32: L to Dec. No. 11 Kanen Storr (Michigan) 3-2
Round One Consolation: # 27 Josh Finesilver (Duke)

157 – No. 32 Luca Frinzi
Pigtail: L to dec. No. 33 Wyatt Sheets (Oklahoma State) 8-2
Pigtail Consolation: No. 30 Markus Hartman (Army)

165 – No. 29 Brian Meyer
Round from 32: L to dec. No. 4 Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech) 8-3
Round One Consolation: # 20 Cole Moody, Wyoming

174 – No. 31 Jake Logan
Round from 32: L to dec. No. 2 Demetrius Romero (UVU) 9-6
Consolation of the first round: No. 15 Thomas Flitz (Appalachian State)

184 – No. 29 Dylan Ammerman
Rd. Of 32: L through main dec. No. 5 Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) 15-3
Consolation of the first round: No. 21 Dominic Ducharme (CSU Bakersfield)

197 – No. 16 Jake Jakobsen
Rd. Of 32: Case No. 17 JT Brown (Army) 7:49, sv
Round of 16: No. 1 Myles Amine (Michigan)

285 – No. 8 Jordan Wood
Rd. From 32: dec. No. 25 Nathan Traxler (Stanford) 6-1
Round of 16: No. 9 Greg Kerkvliet (Penn State)

How Lehigh Wrestling continues Facebook and keep following Twitter and Instagram for exclusive updates throughout the season.

Comments are closed.