40 Lee schools among PBIS Model Schools | News, Sports, Jobs

The Florida Department of Education Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support Project has chosen 40 schools within the School District of Lee County as a PBIS Model School.

The school district has been participating in the PBIS Model Schools program since its inception in 2015.

“Schools must have an active PBIS program which includes systems that support positive behavior. Specific pre-requisites for eligibility include self-assessments to determine the level of implementation of the program, the progress toward ‘benchmarks of quality’ and the utilization of interventions for students who need supplemental support,” Director of Positive Prevention Chuck Bradley said.

He said the program is designed to encourage and positively reward schools in the implementation of their PBIS Program.

“First, the eligibility criteria encourage the school to actively monitor their implementation and to set goals for improvement each year. Second, utilizing the award level criteria, it encourages schools to solve problem utilizing student data to further enhance their implementation and ensure the program is working for all students,” Bradley said. “PBIS is an essential component of a total student behavior and discipline approach. The results of implementing PBIS are well documented. Focusing on positive behavior development increases campus safety, ‘time-on-task’ with fewer behavior-related disruptions, greater student achievement, and higher overall satisfaction with the learning experience of students, parents, and staff.”

Schools have the ability to achieve four different award levels – Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum after attaining eligibility. He said it is determined by the extent of their implementation and the results that they are achieving for student behavior data – reduced office referrals and reduced out-of-school suspension.

The Bronze schools include: Colonial Elementary; Cypress Lake Middle; Diplomat Middle; Lexington Middle; Mirror Lakes Elementary; North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts; Pelican Elementary; Sunshine Elementary; Three Oaks Elementary; Tice Elementary and Villas Elementary.

The Silver schools include Bayshore Elementary; Buckingham Exceptional Centre; Cypress Lake High; G. Weaver Hipps Elementary; Manatee Elementary; Orangewood Elementary; Patriot Elementary; Spring Creek Elementary and Success Academy.

The Gold schools include Bonita Springs Elementary; Caloosa Elementary; Edgewood Academy; Gulf Elementary; Hams Marsh Elementary; Hector A. Cafferata Jr. Elementary and Orange River Elementary.

The Platinum schools include Caloosa Middle; Cape Elementary; Challenger Middle; dr Carrie D Robinson; Littleton Elementary; Gulf Middle; Heights Elementary; J Colin English Elementary; Mariner Middle; Rayma C. Page Elementary; River Hall Elementary; Three Oaks Middle; Tortuga Preserve Elementary and Trafalgar Elementary.

There were also 26 schools across the district that made substantial progress in implementing the PBIS Model Schools; therefore being deemed a District Distinguished School.

Comments are closed.